Contact Us:     405.232.8161     Email Us     Search
Follow Us:     Visit ACDA on Facebook Visit ACDA on Twitter Visit ACDA on Pinterest Visit ACDA on YouTube

American Choral Directors Association


Brock Student Composition Competition Application 
Deadline: October 1, 2017 for 2018 Division Conferences. Winner's Division will premier the winning piece.

In an effort to further its mission to promote choral music and ensure its future, ACDA established the Raymond W. Brock Memorial Student Composition Competition in 1998. The student competition is an outgrowth of the Raymond W. Brock Memorial Choral Commission. The objectives of the contest are three-fold:

1. To acknowledge and reward outstanding undergraduate and graduate student composers,
2. To encourage choral composition of the highest caliber, and
3. To further promote student activity at ACDA divisional and national conferences.

The winner of the composition contest will be awarded a $1,000 cash prize, airfare to the ACDA conference, hotel accommodations, conference registration, and a performance of the winning work on the main stage by a choral ensemble selected by the conference committee.

Applications are typically made available on May 1 of each year in Choral Journal and on the ACDA website.

Brock Student Composition Competition Past Winners

I Am by Kelsey Hohnstein, Texas Tech University
Performed during the 2017 ACDA National Conference
by the Riverside City College Chamber Singers

Forgiven Tears by Alex Berko, Indiana University
Performed during the 2016 ACDA Central Division Conference by Indiana University NOTUS

Spells of Herrick by Andrew Steffen, Oklahoma State University
Performed during the 2015 ACDA National Conference by the Utah State University Chamber Singers

Unto Young Eternity by Matthew Emery, University of British Columbia
Performed during the 2014 ACDA Northwestern Division Conference by the University of Puget Sound Adelphian Choir

Redemption Mass by Julian Bryson, University of Kentucky 
Performed at the 2013 ACDA National Conference by the University of Louisville Cardinal Singers

Two Prayers for Sabbath Evening: II. Oseh Shalom by Joshua Fishbein, University of California - Los Angeles
Performed at the 2012 Western Division Conference by the CSU Fullerton University Singers

Crossing the Bar by Michael Mills, University of Utah
Performed at the 2011 National Conference by Millikin University

Psalm 100 by Derek Myler, Weber State University
Performed at the 2010 Western Division Conference by the University of Utah Singers

Absalon, Fili Mi by Benjamin May, Westminster Choir College
Performed at the 2009 National Conference

In Monte Oliveti by Kristen Walker, William Jewell College
Performed at the 2008 Southwestern Division Conference by the University of Kansas Concert Choir

The Soul�€�s Passing by Dominick DiOrio, Yale University
Performed at the 2007 National Conference by the Florida State University Singers

Selah by Dan Forrest, University of Kansas
Performed at the 2006 Southwestern Division Conference by the Houston Baptist University Schola Cantorum

Kyrie by Kentaro Sato, California State University-Northridge
Performed at the 2005 National Conference by the California State University Northridge Singers

Lux Aeterna by Brian Schmidt, South Dakota State University
Performed at the 2004 North Central Division Conference by the Luther College Collegiate Chorale

Musica Anima Tangens by Joshua Shank, Luther College
Performed at the 2003 National Conference by the United States Air Force Singing Sergeants

Choric Song by Michael Conti, Michigan State University
Performed at the 2002 Central Division Conference by the Millikin University Choir

Stabat Mater by Aaron Garber, University of Tennessee
Performed at the 2001 National Conference by the East Texas Baptist University Concert Choir

Nunc Dimittis by Daniel Pinkston, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
Performed at the 2000 Southwestern Division Conference by the Ouachita Baptist University Singers

Flanders Field by Paul A. Aitken, University of Oklahoma
Performed at the 1999 National Conference by the University of Mississippi Concert Singers