Contact Us:     405.232.8161     Email Us     Search
Follow Us:     Visit ACDA on Facebook Visit ACDA on Twitter Visit ACDA on Pinterest Visit ACDA on YouTube

American Choral Directors Association


The Robert Shaw Choral Award is given to a choral leader who has made unusual contributions to the art of choral music. The recipient is chosen by the ACDA Past Presidents' Council. The Robert Shaw Choral Award is presented during each National Conference.

The following criteria for selection were approved by the Past Presidents' Council in November 1990.

1. The recipient should be a member of ACDA (though there may be exceptions).
2. The recipient should be someone whose primary career is/was in the United States.
3. The recipient has made a significant contribution to the cause of the choral art in America.
4. Such contributions made may have been through teaching, conducting, or leadership.

Nomination Period Closed

Nominations are now closed (the deadline was midnight August 30) for the 2017 award. 

Previous Recipients

2017 Andre' Thomas

2015Royce Saltzman
2013Alice Parker
2011Ann Howard Jones
2009Gene Brooks (presented posthumously)*+
2007Dale Warland
2005Paul Salamunovich*+
2003Warner Imig*+
2001Colleen J. Kirk*+
1999Weston Noble
1997Harold A. Decker*+
1995Howard Swan*+
1993Roger Wagner (presented posthumously)*+
1991Charles C. Hirt*+

(* Deceased)
(+ Wall of Honor Recipient)