Vocal Jazz




National Chair

Gregory Amerind
gwa@gregoryamerind.com



Repertoire Lists

California ACDA Rep List Compiled by Christine Guter
Minneapolis Vocal Jazz Reading Session List - March 2017


Publishers
UNC Jazz Press (Univ. of N. Colorado) www.uncjazzpress.com
Sound Music Publications www.smpjazz.com
Hal Leonard www.halleonard.com
Shawnee Press www.shawneepress.com

Useful Websites for repertoire
JW Pepper
Primarily A Cappella

Free Lance Arrangers*
(go to website to listen to and purchase arrangements)

Greg Amerind www.gregoryamerind.com
Jennifer Barnes www.jenniferbarnesmusic.com
Elin Carlson www.elincarlson.com
Trish Colter www.trishcolter.ca
Rosana Eckert www.rosanaeckert.com
Matt Falker www.mattfalker.com
Jeremy Fox www.jeremyfox.net
Kerry Marsh www.kerrymarsh.com
Phil Mattson www.philmattson.com/arrangements
Darmon Meader www.darmonmeader.com
Paris Rutherford www.parisrutherford.com
Deke Sharon www.dekesharon.com
Jason Smith www.jasonalexsmith.com
Roger Treece www.rogertreece.com
Michele Weir www.micheleweir.com
* These arrangers also have many charts available through the above publishers

Additional noteworthy arrangers
(you’ll find many of their charts at the above publishers’ sites or contact them individually)
Dave Barduhn
Dave Cazier
David Cross
Gary Eckert
Anders Edenroth (The Real Group)
Roger Emerson
Clare Fischer
Gerhard Guter
Greg Jasperse
Larry Lapin
Kirk Marcy
Gene Puerling (Singers Unlimited, The Hi-Los)
John Knutson
David Scott
Kirby Shaw
Vijay Singh
Norm Wallen

Resources

TITLE    AUTHOR    PUBLISHER    ISBN-13#
Jazz Singing (Developing Artistry and Authenticity)    Diana R. Spradling    Sound Music Publications    978-0-9802104-0-8
Jazz and Show Choir Handbook II    Doug Anderson    Hinshaw Music    978-0-9372761-4-3
There Is No Such Thing As A Mistake    Barney McClure    Sound Music Publications    978-0-9679807-0-6
Vocal Improvisation    Michele Weir    Advance Music    ASIN: B000N5DAHW
Scat (Vocal Improvisation Techniques)    Bob Stoloff    Music Sales America    978-0-9628467-5-5
Vocal Jazz Ensemble (The)    Paris Rutherford    Hal Leonard    978-1-4234550-5-9
Sound Reinforcement Handbook    Gary Davis & Ralph Jones    Yamaha    978-0-8818890-0-0
Jazz Singer's Handbook    Michele Weir    Alfred Music Publications    978-0-7390338-7-6
Hear It and Sing It (Exploring Modal Singing)    Judy Neimack    Second Floor Music    978-0-6340809-9-9
Complete Guide to Teaching Vocal Jazz    Stephen Zegree    Heritage Music Press    978-0-8932815-3-3
Jazz Theory Book    Mark Levine    Sher Music Company    978-1-8832170-4-4
New Real Book (The) Volume 1    Chuck Sher    Sher Music Company    978-0-9614701-4-2
New Real Book (The) Volume 2    Chuck Sher    Sher Music Company    978-0-9614701-7-3
New Real Book (The) Volume 3    Chuck Sher    Sher Music Company    978-1-8832170-3-7
Standards Real Book (The)    Chuck Sher    Sher Music Company    978-1-8832170-9-9
Inner Game of Music (The)    Barry Green & Timothy Gallwey    Doubleday    978-0-3852312-6-8
Music Lesson (The)    Victor Wooten    Berkley Trade    978-0-4252209-3-1
21 Bebop Exercises    Steve Rawlins    Hal Leonard    978-0-6340339-0-2
Jazz Piano for Singers (Volume 1) (DVD)    Matt Falker    Sound Music Publications    37101 40658
Live Sound Reinforcement    Scott Hunter Stark    Artistpro    978-0-9183710-7-2
Getting Started with Vocal Improvisation    Patrice D. Madura    Reston, VA: NAfME    1-56545-116-3
Becoming a Choral Music Teacher    Patrice Ward-Steinman    Routledge    0-415-99841-7
Phil Mattson: The Art & the Technique    Phil Mattson    Phil Mattson    
Thinking in Jazz    Paul Berliner    Univ. of Chicago Press    0-226-04380
Jazz Style and Improvisation for Choirs    Russell Robinson    Alfred Music Publications    SVBM05001
The Wow Factor    Steve Zegree    Hal Leonard    978-1-42346-813-4

Jazz Education Network (JEN) www.jazzednet.org (hosts national jazz conference every January)