Student Chapters

ACDA student chapters are active on dozens of campuses nationwide, and even in a few high schools and conservatories. Are you interested?

  1. Is there an existing chapter? First look to see if the chapter at your school is active. Here is the list of active student chapters , current as of August 1, 2019. If your school is listed, find out when meetings are!
  2. Was there once a chapter that you can reactive? If you don't see your school listed as having a chapter, contact Trina Kopacka, ACDA membership & communications coordinator, to see if there ever was one. If yes, you can easily reactivate the chapter by submitting a Reactivation Form.
  3. Establish a chapter! If there isn't, and hasn't ever been, a student chapter at your institution, it's a straight forward process to establish one. We offer you a variety of resources and suggestions: If you want to establish a brand new student chapter, once you lay the groundwork on campus, please submit (1) a completed application form and (2) a copy of your student chapter constitution. We require that your chapter adviser be a current ACDA member, as well as your student chapter president. Of course, we encourage all of the student chapter members be ACDA members, and in participating states, that may be only $5 for your first year (learn more about the Student Membership Initiative).

Kudos!

Ithaca College Student Chapter

Outstanding Student Chapter. Ithaca College (Janet Galvan, faculty advisor) was recently named 2019 Outstanding Student Chapter. The Outstanding Student Chapter Award recognizes an ACDA student chapter which, through its activities, best supports the advancement of choral music. In announcing the award, Dr. David Edmonds, ACDA’s National R&R Chair for Student Activities, stated that Ithaca “continues a strong tradition of musical leadership and innovation and serves as a model of what student chapters can bring to our profession—they are truly doing outstanding work.” This year, the award committee also recognized the student chapter at Texas State University (TSU) with an honorable mention.

Student Chapter Activities
The ACDA Student Chapter at the University of Nevada, Reno, is sponsoring a choral symposium on Saturday, February 29, 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. at the University Arts Building. The event will include workshops, sight-reading sessions, performances, clinics, and panel of choral educators, and more. Donald Brineger will be the keynote speaker, and UNR's a capella group, BLV (Reuben Roberts, cond.) and Damonte Ranch High School's Piu Mosso (Jennifer Tibben, cond.) will be performing. Details.

New and newly reactivated student chapters. Welcome to the following chapters:

  • Appalachian State University (Meg Stohlmann, advisor)
  • Cantabile Youth Singers of Silicon Valley (Elena Sharkova, advisor)
  • Central Connecticut State University (Sarah Bowe, advisor)
  • Plymouth State University (Daniel Perkins, advisor)
  • Southeast Missouri State University (Barbara Lamont, advisor)
  • University of Hawaii (Jace Saplan, advisor)
  • University of New Hampshire (Alex Favazza, advisor)
  • University of Utah (Emily Mercado, advisor)
  • Washington & Lee University (Morgan Luttig, advisor)

Do You Lead an Active Chapter?

  • Submit your annual report by May 15 in order to keep it active for the following school year, and help us stay in touch so that you receive news of student and chapter opportunities.
  • Share news about your chapter! We want to highlight your success. Send photos of your group to Trina Kopacka so we can feature you on our Instagram Highlights (@acda_nation)! Additionally, Choral Journal regularly includes "Student Chapter Updates." Email news updates and photos to Trina Kopacka. (Updates should be 250 words or fewer and include your institution's name and your contact information.)
  • Looking for ideas? Successful collegiate ACDA chapters tend to use the following guidelines in planning their year:
    • Encourage and stimulate student membership and involvement in ACDA at the state, division, and national levels.
    • Promote and recognize the involvement of ACDA student chapters on college campuses.
    • Sponsor activities and sessions at the local level that engage the training and experience of student choral musicians.
    • Encourage student attendance and involvement at ACDA region and national conferences through scholarship projects.
    Chapter activities can include events like the following:
    • Student symposia and workshops
    • Conducting master classes
    • Reading sessions
    • Sponsorship of activities and sessions at ACDA conferences that directly relate to the training and experience of student choral musicians
    Ready for a bigger adventure? ChorTransform is a new program for chapters structured around the tenets of service learning, and takes students out of their usual settings into underserved choral programs and populations. More here .

For additional information and ideas for student chapters, please email David Edmonds, national repertoire and resources chair for student activities.

Active Student Chapters

UNIVERSITY STATE ADVISOR ADVISOR CONTACT
Appalachian State University NC Meg Stohlmann stohlmanmm@appstate.edu
Arkansas Tech University AR Christopher Harris charris51@atu.edu
Azusa Pacific University CA Dr. John Sutton jsutton@apu.edu
Baylor University TX Dr. Lynne Gackle Lynne_Gackle@baylor.edu
Black Hills State University SD Jonathan Nero Jonathan.Nero@bhsu.edu
California State University-East Bay CA Dr. Buddy James buddy.james@csueastbay.edu
California State University-Fresno CA Dr. Cari Earnhart cearnhart@csufresno.edu
California State University-Stanislaus CA Daniel Afonso dafonso@csustan.edu
Cantabile Youth Singers of Silicon Valley CA Elena Sharkova elena@cantabile.org
Capital University OH Laura Kitchel lastkitch@gmail.com
Castleton University VT Sherrill Blodget sherrill.blodget@castleton.edu
Catholic University of America DC Dr. Sharyn Battersby
Battersby@cua.edu
Central Connecticut State University CT Sarah Bowe sbowe@ccsu.edu
Colorado Mesa University CO Dr. Adam Klunck akluck@coloradomesa.edu
Concordia College MN Dr. Michael Culloton culloton@cord.edu
Crane School of Music at SUNY Potsdam NY Dr. Jeffery Francom
francojd@potsdam.edu
Drake University IA Dr. Aimee Beckmann-Collier aimee.beckmann-collier@drake.edu
Duquesne University PA Dr. Caron Daley daleyc1@duq.edu
East Carolina University NC Dr. James Franklin franklinjam15@ecu.edu
Eastern Kentucky University KY Richard Waters richard.waters@eku.edu
Eastern Michigan University MI Brandon Johnson bjohn122@emich.edu
Florida Gulf Coast University FL Dr. Trent Brown trbrown@fgcu.edu
Florida State University FL Kevin Fenton kfenton@mailer.fsu.edu
Fort Worth Academy of Fine Arts TX Kerra Simmons kerra.simmons@gmail.com
George Mason University VA Lisa Billingham Lbillin1@gmu.edu
Georgia State University GA Dr. Deanna Joseph djoseph@gsu.edu
Grand Valley State University MI Shirley Lemon lemons@gvsu.edu
Hofstra University NY David Fryling David.N.Fryling@hofstra.edu
Huntingdon College AL Dr. Darion Womak dwomack@hawks.huntingdon.edu
Illinois Wesleyan University IL J.Scott Ferguson sferguso@iwu.edu
Kansas State University KS Dr. Julie Yu
julieyu@ksu.edu
Keene State College NH Sandra A. Howard showard1@keene.edu
Lee University TN Dr. Joshua Cheney jcheney@leeuniversity.edu
Longwood University VA DCA - Dr. Pamela McDermott mcdermottpd@longwood.edu
Luther College IA Dr. Jill Wilson wilsji01@luther.edu
Mansfield University of Pennsylvania PA Dr. Peggy Dettwiler
pdettwil@mansfield.edu
Meredith College NC Shannon Gravelle smgravelle@meredith.edu
Michigan State University MI Dr. Sandra Snow
slsnow@msu.edu
Middle Tennessee State University TN Dr. Jamila L. McWhirter jamila.mcwhirter@mtsu.edu
Nebraska Wesleyan University NE Boyd Bacon bbb@nebrwesleyan.edu
Northern Michigan University MI Erin Colwitz ecolwitz@nmu.edu
Northwest Missouri State University MO DCA - Dr. Stephen Town woodst@northern.edu
Oregon State University OR Steven Zielke szielke@oregonstate.edu
Pacific Lutheran University WA Brian Galante galante@plu.edu
Pennsbury High School PA David Reimschussel dreimschussel@pennsburysd.org
Plymouth State University NH Dr. Daniel Perkins danp@plymouth.edu
Radford University VA Dr. Meredith Bowen
mbowen16@radford.edu
Reinhardt University GA Dr. Melissa Arasi mta@reinhardt.edu
Rowan University NJ Dr. Christopher Thomas
thomasc@rowan.edu
Rutgers University NJ Dr. Brandon Williams bwilliams@mgsa.rutgers.edu
Saddleback College CA Scott Farthing sfarthing@saddleback.edu
Shorter University GA Dr. Aaron Rice arice@shorter.edu
South Dakota State University SD Andrew Robinette Andrew.Robinette@sdstate.edu
Southeast Missouri State University MO Dr. Barbara Lamont blamont@semo.edu
Southern Utah University UT Krystal McCoy krystalmccoy@suu.edu
State University of New York at Fredonia NY Dr. Adam Luebke Adam.Luebke@fredonia.edu
Stetson University FL Sandra Peter speter@stetson.edu
Syracuse University NY Dr. John Warren jfwarr01@syr.edu
Tennessee Tech University TN Dr. Craig Zamer czamer@tntech.edu
Towson University MD Dr. Diana Saez dsaez@towson.edu
Trevecca Nazarene University TN Dr. Thomas Lerew tlerew@trevecca.edu
University of Arkansas AR Dr. Stephen Caldwell stephenc@uark.edu
University of Central Florida FL Kelly Miller Kelly.Miller@ucf.edu
University of Central Missouri MO Adam Zrust zrust@ucmo.edu
University of Colorado at Boulder CO Elizabeth Swanson Elizabeth.Swanson-1@colorado.edu
University of Delaware DE Dr. Duane Cottrell doc@udel.edu
University of Florida FL Cory Alexander alexanderc@ufl.edu
University of Hawaii at Manoa HI Dr. Jace Saplan jsaplan@hawaii.edu
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign IL Dr. Andrea Solya asolya2@illinois.edu
University of Kansas KS Melissa Grady mlgrady@ku.edu
University of Memphis TN Emily Frizzell emilyfrizzell02@gmail.com
University of Minnesota-Duluth MN Dr. Richard Robbins rrobbins@d.umn.edu
University of Mississippi MS Elizabeth Hearn ehearn@olemiss.edu
University of Missouri-Columbia MO Brandon Boyd baboyd0622@gmail.com
University of Missouri-Kansas City MO Dr. Charles Robinson RobinsonC@umkc.edu
University of Montevallo AL Melinda Doyle
University of Nevada - Las Vegas NV David B. Weiller david.weiller@unlv.edu
University of Nevada - Reno NV Paul Torkelson ptorkelson@unr.edu
University of New Hampshire NH Dr. Alex Favazza alex.favazza@unh.edu
University of North Alabama AL Ian Loeppky irloeppky@una.edu
University of North Carolina at Charlotte NC Randy Haldeman Rkhaldem@uncc.edu
University of North Florida FL Dr. Cara Tasher cara.tasher@unf.edu
University of Oregon OR Sharon Paul sjpaul@uoregon.edu
University of South Carolina - Aiken SC Dr. Joel Scraper ewburch@usca.edu
University of Southern California CA Dr. Cristian Grases cgrases@usc.edu
University of Southern Mississippi MS Dr. Jonathan Kilgore jonathan.kilgore@usm.edu
University of Texas-Arlington TX Dr. Karen Kenaston-French kenaston@exchange.uta.edu
University of Toledo OH Brad Pierson bradley.pierson2@toledo.edu
University of Washington WA Dr. Giselle Wyers wyersg@uw.edu
University of West Georgia GA Karen Graffius kgraffiu@westga.edu
Vanderbilt University TN Biddlecombe tucker.biddlecombe@vanderbilt.edu
Washington and Lee University VA Morgan Luttig mluttig@wlu.edu
Washington State University WA Dr. Lori Wiest lwiest@wsu.edu
Wayne State University MI Alexander Sutton asutton@wayne.edu
Webster University MO Dr. Trent Patterson trentpatterson77@webster.edu
West Chester University PA Dr. Ryan Kelly rkelly@wcupa.edu
West Virginia University WV Kym Scott kuscott@mail.wvu.edu
Western Illinois University IL Dr. Jason Hawkins ja-hawkins2@wiu.edu
Western Michigan University MI Kimberly Dunn Adams kimberly.adams@wmich.edu
Western Washington University WA Tim Fitzpatrick timothy.fitzpatrick@wwu.edu
Westminster Choir College NJ Tom Shelton tshelton@rider.edu
Wingate University NC Dr. Nana Wolfe-Hill n.wolfehill@wingate.edu
Winona State University MN Dr. Harry Mechell hmechell@winona.edu
Wintrop University SC Dr. Jeremy Mims mimsj@winthrop.edu
Arizona State University AZ David Schildkret David.Schildkret@asu.edu
Belmont University TN Dr. Lesley Mann lesley.mann@llemont.edu
Bemidji State University MN Dwight Jilek dwight.jilek@bemidjistate.edu
Central Washington University WA Gary Weidenaar Gary.Weidenaar@cwu.edu
East Tennessee State University TN Alan Stevens Stevensae2@etsu.edu
Eastern New Mexico University NM Dr. Jason Paulk jason.paulk@enmu.edu
Friends University KS
Harding University AR Dr. Cliff Ganus III ganus@harding.edu
Indiana University - Bloomington IN Chris Albanese calbanes@iu.edu
Ithaca College NY Dr. Janet Galvan galvanj@ithaca.edu
Lawrence University Conservatory of Music WI Stephen Sieck stephen.m.sieck@lawrence.edu
Lipscomb University TN Dr. Gary P. Wilson gary.wilson@lipscomb.edu
Montclair State University NJ Dr. Heather J. Buchanan
buchananh@montclair.edu
Nazareth College NY Brian Stevens Bsteven5@naz.edu
San Jose State University CA Dr. Jeffrey Benson jeffrey.benson@sjsu.edu
Temple University PA Dr. Mitos Andaya Hart mitos.andaya@temple.edu
Tennessee State University TN Dr. Susan Kelly skelly7@tnstate.edu
Texas A&M University-Commerce TX Randall Hooper randall.hooper@tamuc.edu
Texas State University-San Marcos TX Dr. Jonathan Babcock jonathan.babcock@txstate.edu
University of Akron OH Dr. Ann Usher ausher@uakron.edu
University of Alabama-Birmingham AL Brian Kittredge briank@uab.edu
University of Arizona AZ Dr. Elizabeth Schauer erschaue@email.arizona.edu
University of Massachusetts-Amherst MA Dr. Stephen Paparo spaparo@umass.edu
University of Miami, Frost School of Music FL Jami Lercher jal373@miami.edu
University of Nebraska at Omaha NE Dr. Derrick Fox dafox@unomaha.edu
University of New Mexico NM Dr. David Edmonds dmedmonds@unm.edu
University of North Texas TX Jessica Nápoles Jessica.Napoles@unt.edu
University of Tennessee-Chattanooga TN Dr. Joseph Kevin Ford Kevin-Ford@utc.edu
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire WI Frank Watkins watkinfa@uwec.edu
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse WI Christophen Hathaway chathaway@uwlax.edu
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point WI Dr. Duane R Karna dkarna@uwsp.edu
Valparaiso University IN Christopher Cock christopher.cock@valpo.edu
Wichita State University KS Tom Wine tom.wine@wichita.edu